Super Street Network

 |   |   |  Toyo Tires Spring Break Tuner Bash - South Padre Island Texas

Toyo Tires Spring Break Tuner Bash - South Padre Island Texas

Jul 12, 2005 SHARE
Turp_0507_01_z+tuner_bash+honda_acura_nsx Photo 1/1   |   Toyo Tires Spring Break Tuner Bash - South Padre Island Texas

Spring break is known as time to cut loose. College students barricade themselves in the library for months on end, drudge through harsh winter weather to attend class and do everything by the rules. The spring break has served as a pressure release valve and the question isn't what you are doing on spring break but where you going on spring break. Daytona has long been one of the most popular break destinations but the city has turned its back on spring breakers and other destinations have reaped the benefits.

One such place is South Padre Island, Texas, which is about as south as you can go in Texas. Get yourself southbound-and-down on I-77, jump on SR 100 and go. If you run into the Gulf of Mexico you've gone too far. The island has a tropical feel that Breakers crave and is set up to handle the big numbers. These qualities are why South Padre was chosen as the venue for the first of many Toyo Tires Spring Break Tuner Bash car shows.

The show portion of the event was sanctioned by Import Showoff while the Dyno Challenge was sponsored by Q-Power. Both events offered cash prizes and trophies. Live entertainment included G Unit featuring Lloyd Banks and Young Buck.

The 2005 Tuner Bash has set the stage and as word gets out South Padre will become a destination for savvy import enthusiasts who want to blow off some steam and show off their gleam.

Class Winner Car Output
6 Cylinder Turbo/Nitrous Sergio Aguilar '94 {{{Supra}}} 508.5
4 Cylinder Turbo/Nitrous Alex Betancourt '04 {{{Jetta}}} 159.9
Rotary Derrick Berg '93 {{{RX-7}}} 321.2
4 Cylinder All Motor Josh Garcia '91 {{{CRX}}} 192.8
6 Cylinder All Motor Albert Ortiz '00 Jetta 140.3




Prancing horses from the last 60 years celebrate U.S. anniversary
Jonny LiebermanOct 23, 2014
For those suffering from drifting withdrawals after the epic Formula D season finale, the guys at Just Drift had just the solution with the annual All Star Bash at Willow Springs Raceway this past Saturday and Sunday.
Jofel TolosaOct 23, 2014
The smoke settles on the 2014 Formula Drift season and Chris Forsberg rises from Irwindale Speedway as the season champion
Andrew BeckfordOct 19, 2014