Super Street Network

 |   |   |  James Deane Wins 2017 Formula D Title
Subscribe to the Free

James Deane Wins 2017 Formula D Title

Teammate Piotr Wiecek takes Irwindale Speedway season finale, capping off a tremendous year for rookie team Worthouse Drift

Oct 15, 2017
Photographers: David Karey, Matt Ulfelder

If ever there was any doubt about the seriousness of the Worthouse Drift Team entering the 2017 Formula D season, it has been convincingly erased by not only Irish sensation James Deane but also by his Polish teammate Piotr Wiecek. While Deane was deservedly always in the spotlight this year, earning an amazing four event victories among an equally staggering six podium finishes, Wiecek was always on the hunt, biding his time for the right opportunity. That opportunity presented itself at Round 8 of the championship, the season finale, where he took down two past champs on his way to the win.

Worthouse S15 Photo 2/33   |   Worthouse S15

Much earlier in the day during Top 32, Deane needed just to take a single car bye-run lap in order to secure the 2017 Formula D drivers title – that’s how huge his points advantage was in the standings coming into Irwindale (the bye run was for qualifying high at P3). In fact, Deane went unopposed until the Great 8 round because neither of his would-be Top 16 competition got out of Top 32 (Dean Kearney in the Oracle Lighting Viper blew up an engine and Ken Gushi’s Greddy Performance 86 had season-ending suspensions damage). In his only battle of the event, the Falken S14 of Odi Bakchis went a bit too aggressive as the pair slid into the short oval’s inner bank, creating contact with Deane’s 2JZ-powered S15 and knocking the Worthouse car into the wall. Bakchis was deemed at fault, but Deane’s team couldn’t fix the car in the allotted time to advance so he had to be happy with third place for qualifying higher than the Final 4’s other also-ran, Vaughn Gittin, Jr., in the Monster Energy Drink Mustang RTR.

James Deane celebrates Photo 3/33   |   James Deane Celebrates

Wiecek started tandem eliminations with a Top 32 bye as well, but then had to face Kristaps Bluss in the carbon-Kevlar clad HGK Motorsports E92 in Top 16, no easy task, and it got harder from there. In Great 8 he dispatched 2015 champion Fredrick Aasbo in the Rockstar Energy Drink Corolla iM, and then was supposed to go up against Deane in the Final 4, but because Deane’s weekend was done Wiecek stepped right into a finals battle with 2011 champ Dai Yoshihara and his Turn 14 BRZ. Wiecek would not be stopped, and while Dai put up a valiant fight, the night belonged to Worthouse Drift.

Yoshihara Wiecek Deane Photo 4/33   |   Yoshihara Wiecek Deane

Falken Tire swept the podium and won the Tire Manufacturer championship for a second straight year. Toyota won its fourth consecutive Manufacturer championship. But really 2017 was about one driver, James Deane, and one team, Worthouse Drift. Look for expanded coverage from Round 8 of the 2017 Formula Drift Championship on Super Street Online this week.

Piotr Wiecek Photo 5/33   |   Piotr Wiecek
Alec Hohnadell fireworks.JPG Photo 33/33   |   Alec Hohnadell Fireworks
Bob Hernandez
601 Articles



When the organizers of Winter Jam say it is the largest drift event in Northern California, they are not messing around.
Bob HernandezJan 22, 2018
There's nothing more American than swapping a potent power plant into a car that natively came with an otherwise underwhelming mill
Bob HernandezJan 19, 2018
RWB has become a household name in the industry, and this meet has grown into a tradition for any enthusiast in town for Tokyo Auto Salon.
Sam DuJan 18, 2018
Sponsored Links