Super Street Network

Due to the EU’s Global Data Protection Regulation, our website is currently unavailable to visitors from most European countries. We apologize for this inconvenience and encourage you to visit for the latest on new cars, car reviews and news, concept cars and auto show coverage, awards and much more.MOTORTREND.COM
 |   |   |  Formula Drift Round 1 - '09 Is On!
Subscribe to the Free

Formula Drift Round 1 - '09 Is On!

Formula D: Round 1 Treets Of Long Beach April 10-11, 2009

Jacob Leveton
Jul 28, 2009
Photographer: Henry De Kuyper

Formula D's sixth season of competition kicked off on the famed Streets of Long Beach course with sunny weather and intense door-to-door sliding action. Although the course is familiar to many, the slew of new cars and new drivers to the series meant the first round was as wide open as ever. Six of the top 16 drivers sat in new chassis, with another six cars debuting at Long Beach by other drivers. Also new was the top 32 tandem format, which led to plenty of exciting tandem battles on one of the season's tightest courses.

Modp_0908_01_o+2009_formula_drift_round_1+formula_drift_official_gear_booth Photo 2/18   |   Formula Drift Round 1 - '09 Is On!

Qualifying was highlighted by a new judging system which emphasizes style and excitement as well as a new face atop the judges' stand. Tony Angelo turned in his driver's suit for 2009 and will be sporting a clipboard atop the judging tower alongside returning judges Ernie Fixmer and Andy Yen. The new system led to lower scores across the board, with Chris Forsberg claiming the top qualifying spot and the only score above 90 (at 93.1 points). Darren McNamara, Tanner Foust, Kazu Hayashida and Justin Pawlak rounded out the top 5 positions. Justin Pawlak started off his '09 season driving for Bergenholtz racing, but was in his familiar FC RX-7 that he drove to the podium at the final event of 2008 at Irwindale-the team's new triple-rotor RX-8 wasn't quite ready for competition.

Modp_0908_13_o+2009_formula_drift_round_1+tanner_foust_scion_tc Photo 3/18   |   Formula Drift Round 1 - '09 Is On!

Perhaps the most hyped debut was Rhys Millen's Hyundai Genesis (which graced our January cover), which qualified 17th but was knocked out in Formula D's inaugural top 32 round by Frenchman Stephan Verdier. Verdier would go on to knock out defending Long Beach champ and top qualifier Chris Forsberg. Verdier's run was cut short by Robbie Nishida in the round of 8, the same round that eliminated Vaughn Gittin Jr.'s inaugural run in his '10 Mustang and Taka Aono's run in his first year as a privateer in his AE86 Corolla.

Modp_0908_18_o+2009_formula_drift_round_1+mopar_dodge_viper_tandem_drift Photo 7/18   |   Formula Drift Round 1 - '09 Is On!

Other big debuts came from defending champion Tanner Foust's NASCAR V-8-powered Scion tC, Tyler McQuarrie's V-8-powered 350Z convertible, Kyle Mohan's 13B-powered RX-8, and Ross Petty's BOSO Garage S15. The rookie class of 2009 looks to be as strong as ever, as international champions Katsuhiro Ueo and Eric O'Sullivan made their debuts in Long Beach, with ProAm graduates Jeff Jones, Matt Powers, Michael Essa, Matt Waldin, Jodin Lejeune and Carl Ryquist all starting off their professional careers in Long Beach. Ueo and Jones both finished in the top 16 at their inaugural event, with Powers, Waldin, Ryquist, Waldin and O'Sullivan all making the top 32 cut.

Modp_0908_11_o+2009_formula_drift_round_1+chris_forsberg_nissan_350z Photo 8/18   |   Formula Drift Round 1 - '09 Is On!

As the competition narrowed to the final 4, some familiar names rose to the top. Robbie Nishida's spin late in the course guaranteed Samuel Hübinette's first final round of the season while Ryan Tuerck's newly built Gardella Racing Solstice took two one-more-time rounds with Tanner Foust's new Rockstar Scion tC before finally moving into the final round. Before the title could be decided, Foust and Nishida faced off in another matchup that went through two sudden-death rounds before Foust claimed the lowest spot on the podium. In the final match-up, Tuerck was able to defeat Hübinette for his first career event win and only his second career podium to lead the championship race, which heads to Atlanta for the second round.

Modp_0908_16_o+2009_formula_drift_round_1+robbie_nishida_nissan_350z Photo 9/18   |   Formula Drift Round 1 - '09 Is On!
1 Ryan Tuerck Gardella Racing / Mobil 1 Solstice 102
2 Sam Hübinette NuFormz Racing / Mopar Dodge Viper 90
3 Tanner Foust Rockstar / Hankook / Scion Racing tC 84
4 Robbie Nishida Hankook Tires / Dynamic Autosport 350Z 72
5 Taka Aono Technosquare Toyota AE86 Corolla 65
T6 Tony Brakohiapa Cooper Tires Team X Ford Mustang 62
T6 Chris Forsberg NOS Energy Drink Maxxis Tires 350Z 62
T6 Vaughn Gittin Jr. Falken Tires Ford Racing '10 Mustang 62
T6 Stephan Verdier Cooper Tires / Crawford Performance STi 62
10 Darren McNamara Falken Tires Sears Saturn Sky 61
11 Justin Pawlak Bergenholtz Racing Cooper Tires Mazda RX-7 58
12 Conrad Grunewald Tanaka Racing Chevy Corvette 57
13 Quoc Ly Driftspeed Nissan S14 56
14 Katsuhiro Ueo Driftspeed Nissan S15 55
15 Jeff Jones Comp Turbo / K&N Filters Nissan S13 54.50
16 Yasu Kondo Kaaaz USA Toyota AE86 Corolla 54.25
By Jacob Leveton
5 Articles



If you've been involved in the import performance world for a few years, then you certainly know the name Sheepey and their parts.
RodrezFeb 22, 2019
A walk on the wilder side of Osaka's biggest automotive event.
RodrezFeb 15, 2019
In advance of Round 1 on March 2nd, The Drift League held its Tech Day at MotoIQ headquarters to give drivers a chance to get competition vehicle scrutineering out of the way instead of doing it onsite at the opener
Bob HernandezFeb 13, 2019
Sponsored Links