Super Street Network

Due to the EU’s Global Data Protection Regulation, our website is currently unavailable to visitors from most European countries. We apologize for this inconvenience and encourage you to visit for the latest on new cars, car reviews and news, concept cars and auto show coverage, awards and much more.MOTORTREND.COM
 |   |   |  Seat is World Touring Car Champion Again - Web Exclusive
Subscribe to the Free

Seat is World Touring Car Champion Again - Web Exclusive

Nov 23, 2009

Seat is World Touring Car Champion for the second year in a row, following the end of the WTCC season in Macau yesterday. And the celebrations don’t end there - just like last year one of its drivers is again champion - Yvan Muller (second place) and teammate Gabriele Tarquini (first place).

Eurp_0911_01_z+seat_championship+side_voew Photo 2/4   |   Seat is World Touring Car Champion Again - Web Exclusive

The Seat Sport team achieved all of its goals at the track clinching the Manufacturers’ World Championship, Drivers’ World Championship and the Independents’ Trophy. Dutchman Tom Coronel took the Independents’ title, meaning that SEAT has triumphed with two different cars - the diesel Leon TDI and petrol Leon WTCC.

Seat is celebrating this finish at the end of a difficult season which included regulatory changes made during the year which limited the potential for the TDI. These challenges didn’t affect Seat’s season thanks to the hard work and close co-operation of the entire team.

This winning spirit proved essential during an extremely challenging weekend in Macau. On Friday, leading drivers Gabriele Tarquini and Yvan Muller finished the qualifying session in the hospital following a serious accident which left both their cars heavily battered. Only through the efforts of Seat’s mechanics were the two cars ready in time for the race.

Eurp_0911_02_z+seat_championship+winner Photo 3/4   |   Seat is World Touring Car Champion Again - Web Exclusive

Tarquini finished the first race second, ahead of Gené, with Yvan Muller fifth and Monteiro sixth. This result meant one of the two drivers was mathematically sure of the title.

The second race was even more tactical with Yvan Muller in third position, followed by Monteiro and Gené, and with Gabriele Tarquini eventually moving up to fifth.

In the Independents’ Trophy, Tom Coronel won the first race and that was enough for him to take the title, his second success in this class with Seat.

With his victory, Gabriele Tarquini becomes the seventh Italian WTCC world champion in history. He has also set a spectacular record since, at 47 years of age, he is the oldest champion in motorsport history.

For Seat, this is the fifth manufacturer world title following those achieved in rallying in 1996, 1997 and 1998 with the Ibiza Kit Car and the four manufacturer and driver World Touring Car Championship titles clinched in 2008 and 2009 with the Leon TDI WTCC.

Eurp_0911_03_z+seat_championship+team Photo 4/4   |   Seat is World Touring Car Champion Again - Web Exclusive

Manufacturer standings:
1. SEAT, 314 points;
2. BMW, 311 points;
3. Chevrolet, 215 points;
4. Lada, 83 points

Driver standings:
1. G.Tarquini (SEAT) 127 points;
2. Y.Muller (SEAT) 123 points;
3. A.Farfus (BMW) 113 points;
4. A.Priaulx (BMW) 84 points;
5. R.Huff (Chevrolet) 80 points;
6. Y.Muller (BMW) 76 points;
7. R.Rydell (SEAT), 64 points;
8. J.Gené (SEAT) 48 points;
9. T.Monteiro (SEAT) 44 points;
10. A.Menu (Chevrolet) 39 points



Preview the April 2019 issue of Super Street, with the first modified A90 Supra (sort of), an underground RX-7 drifter, Carbon Signal’s threesome of Datsun, and more!
Bob HernandezFeb 15, 2019
The G-Class has changed a lot since the 460-series debuted in 1979. Today, the G-wagon is now as much an S-Class as it is an off-roader
Bradley IgerFeb 15, 2019
Iconic livery and 420 whp transform this classic Mazda.
Benjamin HuntingFeb 14, 2019
That's about what the Honda Civic Type R makes and nearly twice as much power as we got from the last Mini JCW GP back in 2012
Collin WoodardFeb 13, 2019
Created exclusively for Japan, the model gets no powertrain upgrades but looks fantastic enough that we don’t really care.
Ed TahaneyFeb 13, 2019
Sponsored Links