Super Street Network

Due to the EU’s Global Data Protection Regulation, our website is currently unavailable to visitors from most European countries. We apologize for this inconvenience and encourage you to visit for the latest on new cars, car reviews and news, concept cars and auto show coverage, awards and much more.MOTORTREND.COM
 |   |   |  Vaughn Gittin Takes the Victory at Round 4
Subscribe to the Free

Vaughn Gittin Takes the Victory at Round 4

The Gauntlet at Wall Speedway; Yoshihara and Forsberg Round out the Podium.

Nate Hassler
Jun 25, 2012
Modp 1206 01+vaughn gittin takes victory+cover Photo 1/1   |   Vaughn Gittin Takes the Victory at Round 4

Long Beach, Calif. – June 23, 2012 – Formula DRIFT returned to Wall Speedway for Round 4: The Gauntlet. Vaughn Gittin, Jr. in the Monster Energy / Falken Tire Ford Mustang takes the victory.

Round 4: The Gauntlet at Wall Speedway saw a sold out crowd continuing the successful season. The Driftstream saw over 200,000 total views in a 24-hour period.

“The drift fans from all over the North East are die hard and came to watch the action until the very end,” said Jim Liaw, president and co-founder of Formula DRIFT. “With many of the top drivers hailing from the area, the North East fans saw two local drivers with Vaughn Gittin, Jr. and Chris Forsberg on the podium.

The competition was fierce at the half-way point of the season. Finding the podium was the past three season champions. Top 4 competition saw a repeat of the final round from Round 3, with the 2009 champion, Chris Forsberg in the NOS Energy / Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z battling against Formula DRIFT rookie Daigo Saito, in the Achilles Tire / Bridges Racing Lexus SC430, who currently sits in second place in the overall standings. Forsberg got his revenge and was able to defeat the rookie ending up in third place and moving him up to fifth place overall. The final battle pitted the current 2011 Formula DRIFT champion, Daijiro Yoshihara in the Discount Tire / Falken Tire Nissan 240SX against the 2010 Formula DRIFT champion, Vaughn Gittin, Jr. Yoshihara had a major correction on his chase run which gave the win to Gittin, for his first podium of the season and improving to fourth place overall. Yoshihara found the podium for his second consecutive event and remains in third place in the standings.

“It took me a little longer than expected to harness this brand new 2013 Monster Energy / Falken Ford Mustang,” said Vaughn Gittin, Jr., winner of Round 4: The Gauntlet. “My team and I worked extremely hard and overcame the challenges and got back on the podium and it feels amazing!”

The competition increases with only a few points separating the competition on their way to becoming the next champion. The Formula DRIFT Pro Championship continues with Round 5: Throwdown on July 20-21, 2012 at Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, WA.

For more information visit:

Formula DRIFT Professional Championship 2012 Point Standings After 4 Events
1.Pawlak, JustinFalken Tire Ford Mustang342 Points
2.Saito, DaigoAchilles Tire / Bridges Racing Lexus SC430329 Points
3.Yoshihara, DaijiroDiscount Tire / Falken Tire Nissan S13291Points
4.Gittin Jr., VaughnMonster Energy / Falken Ford Mustang279 Points
5.Forsberg, ChrisNOS Energy Drink / Hankook Nissan 370Z265 Points
6.Bakchis, Aurimas "Odi" Bakchis Motorsports Nissan 240SX S14243.25 Points
7.Millen, Rhys Hankook / Rhys Millen Racing Hyundai Genesis Coupe240 Points
8.Tuerck, RyanTeam Retaks Nissan 240SX239.50 Points
9.Aasbo, FredricNeed for Speed / Papadakis Racing Scion TC238.50 Points
10.Powers, MattNeed for Speed / Nitto Nissan S14212.50 Points
11.Moen, KennethLutz Performance Nissan 350Z206.50 Points
12. Gushi, Ken Greddy / Hankook Scion FR-S 196.50 Points
13.McQuarrie, TylerMobil 1 Chevrolet Camaro183.50 Points
14.Essa, Michael GSR Autosport / Nitto BMW ZR4177 Points
15.Grunewald, ConradHankook Chevroley Camaro173.50 Points
16.DeNofa, ChelseaBC Racing BMW M3138.50 Points

Round 4: The Gauntlet Event Results
1. Gittin Jr., Vaughn Monster Energy / Falken Ford Mustang Winner
2. Yoshihara, Daijiro Discount Tire / Falken Tire Nissan 240SX Second Place
3. Forsberg, Chris NOS Energy Drink / Hankook Nissan 370Z Third Place Triple Crown Standings after 1 event of 3
1. Pawlak, Justin Falken Tire Ford Mustang 106 Points
2. Yoshihara, Daijiro Discount Tire / Falken Tire Nissan 240SX 92 Points
3.Saito, DaigoAchilles Tire / Bridges Racing Lexus SC43078.5 Points

By Nate Hassler
182 Articles



Emory Motorsports builds the ultimate Outlaw: the 1964 Porsche 356 C4S, an AWD classic Porsche that features the running gear of a 1990 911 Carrera 4.
Rory JurneckaFeb 22, 2019
Two images that purport to show the all-new 992-generation 911 Turbo have shown up on the internet, and they seem to be the real deal
Ed TahaneyFeb 21, 2019
Aston Martin isn't expected to deliver its third hypercar until late 2021, but it's already teasing the mid-engine coupe codenamed Project 003
Kelly PleskotFeb 20, 2019
Carbon Signal Automotive (CS) might not be a familiar name to most, but it's quickly mastered what neither the best in California or Japan can do yet, which is what's helped put its name onto the map.
Jonathan WongFeb 20, 2019
Speedworks Motorsport opts for the new Toyota Corolla hatchback to take racing in the 2019 British Touring Car Championship
Bob HernandezFeb 20, 2019
Sponsored Links